Bread, Cake, and Snow

My garden beds on the side of the garage, notice the horse proof fence.

Yet another snowy weekend for me which has resulted in a coffee-cocoa cake and bread. My dream is to get outside and turn over the garden beds and get the new beds built. I’ve been looking at seeds and reading garden magazine voraciously and it just keeps snowing and snowing. It is spring in the Rockies. The year PBS filmed Pioneer House, not to far from here up on The Boulder, they had a June snowstorm that left a foot or two of snow behind, it is still April so there is hope. In the mean time I’ll just keep making more bread, no one minds that.

Bread ready to go in the oven.

Quick baguette
2.8 pounds water
4 tablespoons yeast
1 tablespoon honey
4.4 pounds high gluten flour
3 tablespoons yeast.

Proof yeast in water with honey. Add flour and salt, knead until smooth. Let rise until doubled. Shape into desired form and let rise until doubled. Preheat oven to 400. I like to put a cast iron pan of ice on the bottom of my oven to help with crust development. At work 3 scoops of ice get tossed in the back of the big pizza oven.

I break the recipe in two and make it in my kitchen aid mixer at home. At work I get 8 baguettes out of this recipe. Today I made two dozen rolls and two boules.


Taking the temperature of the bread. It wasn’t done.

coffee cocoa cake

Coffee Cocoa cake
I first made this at work and had a hunk to see if it was still moist. The flavor was so chocolaty and the coffee was present too up front, not in the back ground. I’ve been making mine in a round spring form and it tends to fall a bit in the middle, which cold be altitude too. This is just a good cake to have in one’s repertoire. Here is the link.
http://www.finecooking.com/recipes/coffee-cocoa-snack-cake.aspx

Warning minor rant.
I have this recipe in two different magazines from Fine Cooking. In the cake one they give weights and in the chocolate one they do not. They are inconsistently consistent in this type of thing. I find it annoying, personally, it is up there with giving me tablespoons and cups for butter. If you want to harp on using weight than give them all the time with modifications for those who are scaleless.

About iffyarchive

A green smoothie loving geek who helps others find their healthy. I work with people who feel confused about what healthy is and what is not healthy. I help them find their healthy. I love to blog, cook, and tweet.
This entry was posted in bread, cake, everyday cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Bread, Cake, and Snow

  1. mathilde says:

    That bread looks amazing! Yum.

Leave a comment